Blogs are forever

I remember the day I decided to start blogging every day. I knew it would be a big commitment but I really wanted to be consistent and gain a following. I love writing and I was so happy to be able to use this little blog as a way to share my thoughts.

I stayed consistent for almost 3 years. Blogging every week day and only missing a day or two the entire time. I then changed it up to just three times a week since my life was so busy and I was having a hard time keeping up.
Life is constantly changing as kids go through different phases, business increases or decreases, ministry changes and I realized that the amount of time I was putting into my blog was really needing to be put into other areas.
I try to be really purposeful in where I put my time. I don’t want to be wasting my time and I want for my efforts to be put into things with eternal value.

I stopped blogging for a while so I could put my efforts more into finishing the devotional book  I was putting together and I’m so incredibly happy with how it turned out.

I also needed to stop blogging for a while so I could spend the evenings as a family since AJ was now gone all day and half the night and that was the only time we had together.

There were other things that contributed to it as well, but my intention was never to stop completely. Just to take a little break from it all.

Recently I was looking at the stats from my blog which shows me which posts are being read. It was interesting to find my post about raising a child with Tourette’s Syndrome had been read so many times recently. I wrote the post over a year ago and I haven’t mentioned it since! Blogging is forever. It really is. Once you write it, you don’t lose it. It always stays as a little piece of your life right where you left it.

Another post about raising teenage boys and then 3 things you should never say to your kids and how the iPhone is not the problem. These posts were written over a year ago, and somehow they are still being found on the good ole world wide web. It shows me that there is a need for godly parenting advice! The posts of mine that find the most traffic are the ones about parenting! Now, parenting advice is certainly not hard to come by these days. Anyone and everyone has an opinion and doesn’t mind voicing it. But godly parenting is a little harder to find. My life hasn’t exactly slowed down (although AJ’s basketball season is over so he gets home at 4:00 instead of 8, 9 or 10:00!) but I really do want to start picking things back up here.

I have absolutely loved the people I have “met” because of this little space on the internet, and I have been so encouraged by many people who have said what this blog has meant to them. So thank you.

And I’m not exactly sure exactly what it is going to look like, or how consistent I will decide to be, but I’m excited to start sharing more of my life with my people.
Thanks for being my people.

Leave a Reply

