Mommy Monday ~ Teaching your kids how to study Scripture

I am constantly surprised by the amount of Christian adults who do not know how to study Scripture.
I hear from people over and over that they just don’t have a good understanding of the Bible, it’s too hard for them to understand, or they just never learned to read God’s Word every day.

As a parent, it absolutely has to be a top priority to teach your children how to study the Bible and how to read it every day.
It is the way God speaks to us! If our kids don’t know how to hear God speak to them, they are going to be in major trouble in life.

But before you start thinking of ways to teach your kids how to study Scripture, let me remind you of this first:
It has to start with you!
I Corinthians Paul talks about how people do not have a knowledge of God, and then he says “I say this to your shame.” Basically, He’s saying –
You guys keep sinning and don’t even understand who God is and what He wants you to do!! And ya know what?
It’s your own stinking fault!
You have God’s Word.
You have the Holy Spirit to help you understand.
You are just. plain. lazy, and you don’t understand the importance of what you are missing out on. Shame on you, dudes. Shame on you. (Rachelle Chase Version/RCV)

I love the book of Deuteronomy, and in chapter 6 verse 7 it says

These words which I command thee this day, shall be in thine heart; And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sites in thine house, and when thou walkouts by the way, and when thou list down, and when thou rises up.

It has to start with you, mom. With you.  You have to be spending time hearing God and listening to his voice. You have to be spending time praying and building your relationship with God first. Then, and only then can you start teaching your kids to do the same.

So my challenge to you tonight is this. Ask yourself how knowledgable you are when it comes to God’s Word.
Ask yourself if you have prepared your heart to seek God.
Ask yourself if you have the kind of relationship with God that he desires to have with you!
Then make intentional decisions to get to know God better.
When you start doing that, you will be prepared to teach your kids to do the same.

I am going to be taking some time off from blogging consistently because I am in the process of writing. I would like to be able to take the time I normally put into blogging and put it into a couple different writing projects I’m working on.

My first project is going to be geared towards giving kids (elementary – high school age) helpful tools to study God’s Word more effectively.

My second project will be geared towards Biblical parenting.

I am so excited to see what God is doing with these ideas He has given me, and I will be keeping you updated as I go along.

.

4 thoughts on “Mommy Monday ~ Teaching your kids how to study Scripture

  1. I love this. And you’re right it starts with me!! Praying for you as you work on your next projects. For God to use you and equip you and show you what he wants. And I’m looking forward to seeing the results. xoxo:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

