Mommy Monday ~ Teaching yourself and your kids how to be free

*I got home late tonight so grabbed a post that I wrote back in 2009 and posted it again. So, excuse my duplicate blog! ha!

I am a total visual learner. When I can see something, or hear an illustration where I can picture it, I can learn a lot better. There is a passage in Romans 6 that has always been so interesting to me because it is something I can picture!

Verse 16 “Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone to obey him as slaves, you are slaves to the one whom you obey—whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness?”
The KJV says servants instead of slaves, but either way it is the same idea.This is the deal. I have issues. (hopefully I am not alone?)
First: I take something that has happened to me, against me, or against someone I love.
Second: Then what I do is I think about it…a lot. I analyze it, like…what was the person thinking when she said that? What did I ever do that would make them say or do that?
Third: Then I start feeling a little bit upset. Not too much. Like, it doesn’t affect everything…yet.
But then I think about it a little more. I start to have imaginary conversations in my head.
Like, I picture myself talking to this person and saying exactly how I feel.
And before long, I realize that it IS affecting me.
I am starting to get a little snappy with my kids, or my husband. I start to feel a little more annoyed, and I have to say…PRIDEFUL. as if would never do anything like what this person has done! Sometimes it goes one step further, although I have to be pretty blatantly in the flesh to let it get here, but I open my mouth and talk about it to someone else.
This is where the verse comes in. I am literally becoming a slave to this sin. In this case, it’s the sin of not thinking of others as better than myself. It’s crazy because when I picture this, it changes things. This feeling that is making me so upset?  I am taking a pair of handcuffs and putting one end on my wrist, and the other on the “wrist” of the sin, and letting it drag me around wherever it wants to take me. Why? Why would I ever want to do that? If I was in my right mind, and if I understood how NOT GOOD it feels to be upset, I would want to run as far away from it as I could!! Satan has a way of tricking us, huh? This is where the next verse comes into play.
“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

This is wild. And you are gonna think I’m crazy. But acting out verses with legos, playmobils, or other objects will not only help your kids, but it will help you!
This is how I described it to my 6-year-old.
This is a bad guy (show him his little pirate dude)
POC4_Blackbeard02He is trying to handcuff you to himself and wants to make you steal all the kings gold!

BUT. We have to capture him first! (make all kinds of fun noises and catch this bad guy!Grrrrr!)
We just capture him, and give him to the KING, and then make him obey the King! Now you are free to do what you want to, and the kind King rewards you for doing the right thing. Yay!!! Time to celebrate and get some ice cream! Hip Hip Hooray! The bad guy is captured!

Ok. You get the idea. We take God’s Word. We use everyday objects to act it out and apply it to our kids lives, and yet somehow it teaches us exactly what God wants it to! Amazing.

Here is my challenge to you today.  Understand that when you decide to say yes to whatever it is you are struggling with? you are saying yes to being a slave to it. A slave!  So maybe you are a slave to gossip. Maybe you are a slave to alcohol. Maybe you are a slave to a critical spirit. Maybe you are a slave to lying. It doesn’t sound as pretty that way, does it?! No one wants to be a slave.

Understand what it is you are doing in your own life and get a handle on it. That is going to put you in a much better position to be teaching your kids the same. If we teach our kids at an early age that disobeying, cheating, and lying are things that are trying to handcuff themselves to them and make them slaves – they are going to be able to really grasp it by the time they are ready to make decisions on their own.

It’s a win all the way around. We learn how to live free. We teach our kids how to live free. No one wants to be a slave. What better gift can we give our kids than teaching them how to live a life that is free, and that a comes with rewards from the King? That’s a pretty good gift…now if I can just get a hold of that…

One thought on “Mommy Monday ~ Teaching yourself and your kids how to be free

  1. I. Love. This. And I’m sure I loved it in 09 too! This is why you need to publish a book with your posts. So we can flip through and read all of your thoughts and knowledge!! I love how you put this, so easy to understand. And to remember to be teaching these things to our kids too! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

