Mommy Monday ~ Soccer and Sundays

I love that my boys have the privilege of playing for elite, travel soccer teams, but I hate that there are so many games on Sundays!
It’s really not even a hard decision for us. Our priorities for church attendance were set in stone long before we had kids, but it still frustrates me that my kids have to miss out on game and tournaments because of it.

My recommendation for parents is this: make decisions that are consistent with the kind of long term choices you want your children to be making. Does that make sense? 20 years from now, I want my kids to be committed to pursuing their relationship with God and with godly people.
Soccer? It’s not as big of a deal. It’s not as big of a priority.

Don’t get me wrong. Our kids are on teams, and we believe that being committed to the team is important as well. They can’t miss practice just because they feel like it, they can’t be lazy at practice because they had a bad day. It’s important. It’s just not as important as our relationship with God.

My recommendation for couples who aren’t yet parents is this: Make hard decisions now before you even have kids! When Adam and I decided that church was a priority no matter what when we got married, it made it so much easier the first time we were faced with a tough decision with our kids. The boys know it has nothing to do with them, it has everything to do with our commitment to God and to the body of Christ.

This weekend the boys had a tournament and even though they both had to miss one game on Sunday morning, they were still able to play 2 games each on Saturday and 1 game on Sunday.

I know I say it a lot, but watching them play is one of my all time favorite things to do. They are incredibly skilled, but not only that: they are great team players, good leaders, respectful and all around great kids. I’m so blessed to be their mom.

2015-05-25_0001

2015-05-25_0002

2015-05-25_0003

2015-05-25_0004

2015-05-25_0005

2015-05-25_0006

2015-05-25_0008

2015-05-25_0009

2015-05-25_0010

2015-05-25_0011

Oh these boys have my heart. Love them so so much.

2015-05-25_0007

One thought on “Mommy Monday ~ Soccer and Sundays

Leave a Reply

