Mommy Monday ~ Are we raising ignorant children?

Ignorance. It’s kind of running rampant these days. And I’m not just talking about the enormous amount of adults who don’t know how to use the words your and you’re correctly. I’m talking about basic, everyday decision making that is deciding futures.

Every once in a while, I will ask different teenagers at The Porch how they decide what is right and what is wrong. Do you know the #1 answer? Whatever feels right. Yikes. We are living around the majority of people who think that the way to find out if something is right or wrong is if it feels right. Well, I guess the results of that make sense.
When this is what you’re feeling: Depression. I guess that suicide, or cutting, or bullying might feel right. So it would mean that in that case it would be right. Right?

When this is what you’re feeling: Anger. I guess that beating someone up, school shootings, mouthing off to authorities, drugs or alcohol would feel right. So it would mean that in that case it would be right. Right?

Hm. What about this. What about if we gave you something that told you what was right or wrong and it didn’t have to do with how you were feeling? Wouldn’t that be a relief? You don’t have to trust in your ever changing feelings to determine right or wrong? I mean, after all. Your feelings are going to change based on your circumstances, how much sleep you’ve had, how much you’ve eaten and a few other things. So it would be way easier to just give you something to go by! And that is exactly how we are called to raise our children.

I was thinking about the verse in 2 Corinthians 2 that says this:

We are not ignorant of his (satan’s) devices. The verse is in reference to unforgiveness. If I have unforgiveness, satan gets an advantage on me. So I started doing some research on what exactly satan’s devices are. I am a competitive person. I do not like the idea of anyone have an advantage on me! I want everything going for me so I have a chance to win. I want the same for my kids.

How do I make sure that my kids have the advantage in life? Well. I find out what satan’s devices are. So I did a little studying. Starting in Genesis. There are many ways that satan tries to trick us, but here are a few main ones.

1. Doubting God. Now you may just skim over this one and think, ya, ya, ya. I know there’s a God. But that’s not what I mean. Eve knew there was a God. But in the Garden of Eden she started doubting what God said, and what He meant by it. We show that we doubt God when we start disobeying his commands. When we start justifying our sins. When we start doubting truths about Him (like He loves us and has a plan for us) and commands by Him. (like speaking evil of no man, like answering a matter before hearing both sides, like staying pure, and many others) When we start doubting that certain things about God are true, and start doubting that certain commands are necessary? Satan is getting an advantage of us.

2. Staying angry. Ephesians 4 is clear that we are not supposed to let the day end with us being angry. We are told that we are giving opportunity to the devil when we do that. Giving him opportunity? No thanks. Not on my watch!

3. Having bitter envying and selfishness. This is crazy, because James talks about how when we have bitterness and become self-centered? He calls that devilish and tells us not to lie to ourselves and justify our actions. Weird, right? Because bitterness, envy and selfishness don’t really seem like the biiiig sins, ya know? It seems like oh just a little bit of…let’s call it irritation. And I’m not bitter, I’m just not going to let anyone do that to me again. We are pretty good at justifying our sins, but when we do that, satan gets the advantage!

Why do we feel like we’re winning when satan is getting the advantage?!?
We are not winning! 
Just yesterday in church, my dad said that satan is subtle. The sin doesn’t leap on us, it creeps on us. So true. We don’t fall all the way in one day. It’s a little bad choice here, and a little bad choice there. And before we know it, we have completely lost the advantage and we are losing. I hate losing.

There are many others, and I would encourage you to do a study yourself of all the ways satan can get an advantage on us and on our kids. Don’t you think that would be the safest? When I hear parents who are letting their kids be free, and think for themselves, and base their decisions on their feelings…it scares me. Because they don’t even realize that they are setting their kids up to lose. They don’t see it like that, but what enemy is going to tell you his plans? Duh. None, if they’re smart! You don’t see coaches texting the opposing coach during a game to let him know his play calls. That would be stupid. It’s the same in life. If we don’t let our kids know the potential dangers and tricks that the enemy is planning, we are setting them up for failure.

Ignorance is not what we want for our kids. But so, so many parents are raising ignorant children. It’s ignorant to tell your child there is no right or wrong. It’s ignorant and it’s dangerous.

Let’s be sure that we are first finding out satan’s tricks and devices for ourselves. And then let’s be sure and tell our kids what they are. Don’t be ignorant of satan’s devices!

Ain’t nobody gonna get an advantage on this momma! The Chase’s are playing to win.

2 thoughts on “Mommy Monday ~ Are we raising ignorant children?

Leave a Reply

