How to make the worst buttermilk biscuits ever

Sometimes I’m Suzy Homemaker. I can whip up an apple pie from scratch in 15 minutes flat. I can make some pretty darn good homemade bread, and I can get a meal from the freezer to the table in a half hour. When I’m on my game, I can make June Cleaver look like a slacker!

But then there’s those other times that I start talking on the phone while I cook. Faaaahget abaaaht it! I’m talking and pouring and talking and kneading and talking and pouring.
Cooking aaand solving all the world’s problems. Simultaneously. Impressive.
Then I put these bad boys in the oven and wait for my family to come running down the stairs following the smell of homemade buttermilk biscuits, run to me and hug me, then devour the flaky rolls, singing my praises.

But this time, I thought they looked funny. Kind of similar to light brown hockey pucks. Hmm. I put all the ingredients in. I know I did. Maybe they’re fine, I’ll just try a bite. Um. Ya. Something’s wrong dude. Really wrong.I look back at my recipe, then glance at the FOUR ingredients still on the counter. Not rocket science, people! Oh. Ahem. Right. Baking POWDER. That little tiny word makes a difference? When you use three teaspoon fulls it does! Let me tell you… It was not pleasant. So. The only thing I could do was throw the entire batch out and start again.

2015-03-20_0001

If you want the recipe you can find it here. And when you make it right? Two words: Yum.my. Seriously so good! If you want to know how to make the worst buttermilk biscuits ever? Switch out the baking powder with baking soda.
Now if you are trying to get out of cooking? You may wanna hold on to this tip. No one will want to eat these, and the only reasonable remedy to get that nasty taste out of your mouth would seem to be take out.
Just saying. So there you go.

2015-03-20_0003 2015-03-20_0002

Happy Friday, peeps!

One thought on “How to make the worst buttermilk biscuits ever

Leave a Reply

