Mommy Monday ~ You are not alone!

So I love doing these mommy monday posts, and I love all the responses I get from them. I really think it is so important that we as moms realize that we are not alone! Sometimes it can feel like I must be the only mom who has a child that…fill in the blank!! But chances are, I am not! I stumbled across this poem that I wrote when my kids were 2 and 3 years old. It’s funny because I can barely even remember what life was like then, but at the time – I thought I could never possibly forget. I’m sure some of you can relate to these feelings I wrote down:

A Mother’s Life

A young exhausted mother
Stumbles into bed
One long day is over
Yet another lies ahead

Why are these tears streaming down her face?
She has two healthy boys
She has a loving husband
But her heart just can’t rejoice

Tiring duties never end
The whining is so intense
She has a happy family
These sad feelings make no sense

She knows God has a reason
For everything in her life
The darkness comes so strong
The pain cuts like a knife

She wants it to be different
She doesn’t want to yell
Others don’t know how she really feels
They’ll never be able to tell

She’s mad at how she’s feeling
More than anything
She just wants happiness for her kids
For them to see her laugh and sing

One thing she has to remember
The most important thing of all
Jesus loves and cares for her
He’ll catch her when she falls

She is precious and honored in His sight
He is gently leading her on
He won’t give her more than she can bear
And his love will never be gone

So tomorrow will start another day
His compassion will be new
He’ll giver her more strength as she needs it
With his help, she will make it through

Whatever comes into her life
Has been approved by God
He’ll carry her through every storm
In this pathway of life she must trod

It’s so strange to read it now, through the eyes of the mom of a 12 and 13-year-old! Somehow, I made it through! ha! So don’t forget – We are in this together. You are not alone, even if you think you are. And you will get through it!

Now I want to hear from you. What are some issues you are currently dealing with that you could use a little insight on? I certainly don’t think I have all the answers, but I definitely know that being a mom for over 13 years has taught me a thing or two. I have a little bit of experience when it comes to being a work at home mom, a homeschooling mom, being in ministry, dealing with tourette’s syndrome, dealing with strong willed children, dealing with expectations of others, and of myself, and a million other topics.

Please leave a comment at the bottom of this post with a subject you would like me to talk about. If you would rather it be anonymous, you can put that in the comment and I won’t publish it. Or you can message me through Facebook or email me at ajnrileysmommy@ hotmail.com. Looking forward to hearing from you and helping you remember that you are not alone!

*There is a search bar on this blog. If you are looking for a specific topic, type it in and see if I’ve already posted something about it!

Leave a Reply

