Threads, kicks and frosting ~ When you’re ugly on the inside

I love reading about the latest fashion, and I could search on pinterest and etsy all the day long for new things that I would love to be wearing. I have a few stellar items that I am excited to share about…but that is not for today’s post. Today’s post has to do with what you look like regardless of what you’re wearing.

When I try and find ways I can make my makeup look better, find clothes to wear that make me look thinner, sport the best jewelry and rock out the latest and greatest pair of boots? I can find a website in a heartbeat. But let’s face it. Looking stylish is the easy job. Being beautiful on the inside? That is the hard job. Finding websites about how I can take care of myself on the inside are a little bit trickier. I can make myself appear any way I want to, but if I am not taking care of myself on the inside, what’s the point? I wrote about 3 wicked hard, nearly impossible steps to aging gracefully here and I talk about the importance of taking care of the inside in a little more detail.

The biggest thing I personally need to overcome when it comes to looking ugly on the inside is this: getting rid of distractions. I am constantly distracted. I drive myself crazy with it. I can decide to read my Bible in the morning, but I have to do it in a room that is warm (which is slim pickings in my house!) and the room that is warm is the room that has my computer in it. And the room that has a view into the kitchen…including the sink. And even when I want to do the right thing, my phone is buzzing, my computer is dinging and my dirty dishes are calling out my name. So the other morning, I went upstairs to my attic.pursuit community 31 bible study fasting devotional inspirational speaker 1

This is kind of a big deal, if you know anything about my experiences with animals and my house. You can read some fun stuff here and here. But it was quiet. Totally and completely quiet. I was alone. And it felt weird. I started talking out loud to God (because I can do that when I’m alone), and I asked Him a lot of questions. There are a lot of things going on right now that I just don’t understand. I told him I was sorry for putting other things ahead of Him and I just sat there and talked to Him. Ya know He told me? I need to pray more and talk less. That was loud and it was clear. And do you know what I couldn’t help but wonder? How long has He been trying to tell me that? Here I am running around doing this and doing that and not even stopping long enough to listen. That is bad. And that will make me ugly on the inside.

praymore

So I am getting up earlier and making sure I have some quiet time with God. So I can listen better. And it is at a perfect time, because I just so happen to have a great little devotional to share with you all!

I am so thankful that God brought some women into my life who challenge and encourage me. Karen Stott started Pursuit Community a few years back and out of it have come some of my closest friends. She had the vision to do a 21 day devotional that had to do with prayer and fasting. It is written by 21 different women, and I am honored to be one of those women! I would love to have you join me along with many other women who will be doing one devotional a day for 21 days starting February 1st.  (Mine is day 19) You can buy a hard copy of the devotional here, (and it is beautiful!) 10428070_10152627153311500_1822896514727335586_n*Photo take by Kristene Neeley*
Or, if you’d prefer you can download a free digital version here!
I recommend that you find a place that is your place to spend time with God. Make it a consistent thing you do each day.

bible study fasting devotional inspirational speaker 2You don’t have to have a fancy Bible, or know how to do calligraphy! I don’t have a pretty leather journaling Bible or fancy pen. I have a well-worn Bible that I got in 1994 and a pen I think I may have stolen from the bank! ha!bible study fasting devotional inspirational speaker 3 bible study fasting devotional inspirational speaker 4So think about how you are making yourself look on the inside. And the thing is, when you spend time making sure you look good on the inside? You end up looking beautiful on the outside to everyone around you.

Leave a Reply

