Mommy Monday ~ A different kind of game

I was reading in I Corinthians today. In chapter 3 it talks about the wisdom of this world. It calls it FOOLISHNESS with God! Wow. That is pretty strong language, don’t you think? Verse 18 warns of deceiving yourself in thinking that you are wise in this age. This is what it’s all about…my faith stands NOT in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. I love that I can teach that to my boys. I came up with a little game that I played with the boys when they were younger, and one that we still use today. It’s a different kind of game.

It went a little something like this.

Me: Riley, AJ is having a hard time with a boy from awana who is being mean to him. What verse could you give him to help him?

Ry: ummm…maybe think of others as better than yourself?

Me: Great Riley!

Me: Now AJ, Ry is having a hard time going to sleep at night because he is so afraid. What verse could you give him to help him?

AJ: Hmmm…what time I am afraid I can trust in Thee. Oh, then he can even sing it!!

Me: Awesome!

This went on for a while, with me giving life situations, and the boys coming up with scripture to solve it.

See, to me…this is more important than any other lesson I can give them.

If Riley can solve every math problem in 5 seconds, but has not gotten over his anger issues. I have failed.

If AJ can rattle off every fact about the civil war, but can not control his emotions. I have failed.

The main thing I would like to teach my boys is that the Bible is ALL-SUFFICIENT. Did you get that?? Just in case you didn’t hear it the first time, I will type louder.

The Bible is ALL-SUFFICIENT

People do not get that…even christians sometimes. They think that the Bible is good for…spiritual things. But when it comes to health, finances, marriage, parenting, depression, dating, you name it. THOSE kind of things you need a doctor, a shrink, a super-nanny, a pill.
That’s not what my Bible says. Don’t get me wrong. I am not against doctors or anything like that, but you get my point. The Bible is what we need to go to for everything – FIRST. I have sat at The Porch with kids who make statements to me about their life choices and it is so clear that they are looking at the wisdom of men. They are watching people who are making decisions and then they are basing their own decisions on what they are watching. They are not looking at a standard to hold their lives to. They are looking at worldly wisdom. These kids need parents who are giving them not only their own opinions, but words of truth. Words that they can look to for every situation in life. Words that are going to give them help now, and in the future.

2 Peter says “His divine power has granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness, through the true knowledge of Him Who called us”. That’s pretty clear. Let’s make sure that we are teaching our kids from an early age that the Bible is sufficient for everything. Not just the things we pick and choose. Everything.

Why don’t you try this kind of game with your kids today? The older your kids get, the better it gets.

Me: AJ, mom really needs a cup of coffee and the laundry folded. What do you think the Bible says about you doing that for me?

AJ: Honor your mother and father…I’ll get right on that mom! ha!

Totally joking. Although now that I think about it…

2015-01-26_0002

Leave a Reply

