Comparison Street

I never envisioned myself as a photographer. I was not the girl with a camera in her hand since she was 2. I didn’t even start my business until the days of sweet little baby kisses and sticky toddler faces were long gone for me. I did always envision myself as a mom. And when I realized that I could actually make money while I stayed home and watched my kids grow up I jumped at the chance. My business technically started about 5 years ago, but since I homeschool my kids and run a not for profit organization, it hasn’t gotten the full time attention that it could have. It has grown slowly and I am perfectly ok with that.

When you are running a business, I think it is ridiculously easy to fall into a trap of comparing. You compare yourself to other photographers based on their work, their likes, their number of clients or the amount of equipment they have. It’s a dangerous place to go if you allow yourself to stay for any length of time. Just today I was reading in Isaiah 26. Verse 12 says this: Lord, you establish peace for us; all that we have accomplished you have done for us. 

This is such an important truth to understand. Everything I am accomplishing, God has actually done for me. Wow. That kind of knocks me back when I start thinking either less of myself or more of myself. It’s all God. None of it is me. He gives and He takes away. (Job 1:21) He is the one who gives the power to get wealth. (Deuteronomy 8:18) It’s always all about Him, and not about me.

So if you are finding yourself going down the street of comparison and thinking less of yourself, just stop. You are where you are, because this life you are currently living is the life God ordained for you. And if you are finding yourself going down the street of comparison and thinking more of yourself? You can stop as well. Everything you have is because of Him. Don’t let yourself get so caught up in all of it that you fail to see the truth. Keep your focus where it needs to be.
Comparison Street aint a good street for anyone!

I am so grateful that God has allowed me to have this job I love. I love people. Getting to meet so many people and have the chance to capture a little piece of their lives has been incredible. Thank you so much to all of you who have allowed me to see a little bit of who you are.
You are all amazing.

2015-01-02_0005 2015-01-02_0006 2015-01-02_0007 2015-01-02_0008

2 thoughts on “Comparison Street

  1. Rachelle,

    I just had to respond to your post (still catching up on e-mails here, lol). We have a lot in common. We believe the same about our business as well. That kind of perspective that God is the one who gave us this business – who brings us our clients – who gave us and continues to give us the talent and the vision to carry out creativity – and who will continue to sustain us into 2015 and well beyond…that perspective is because we know that we belong to Him. So…Amen sister!

    Sometimes it happens to us too (the comparison thing), but not usually too much. We realize that we have chosen to follow God’s calling on us to homeschool our kids and that necessarily we will have to depend on Him *more *and rely on our ability to have all our social media/networking ducks in a row *less*. Bryan recently had been concerned about how many bookings we had for the next year (compared to what was booked by this time last year). God has been encouraging Him with an inquiry when he really needs it, and inspiration in other ways to attract attention. We can’t lose sight that it is God who does it all – not us. 🙂

    Blessings, and I will see you on Tuesday! -Nikki

    Like

Leave a Reply

