It takes all of us to reach all of them.

So many times you have to just live your life and do what you do even if you don’t see any results. When Adam and I started The Porch, we really didn’t know how many lives we would impact, or in what way we would impact them. To be honest? We still don’t really know.

All I know is this:

Every single person needs to know that they have value.

Today I told a 12-year-old boy that he had incredible value. You know why I told him that? Because just a couple weeks ago, he told me that no one cared about him. Is that ok? Is it ok for anyone to feel like no one cares about them? I don’t think so. And maybe what I am doing each day doesn’t mean a whole lot to you. That’s ok.
And maybe what I am doing each day won’t get on the news and maybe only one person will ever know about it. That’s ok too. Because the truth of the matter is, I am reaching people that you can’t reach. And you are reaching people I can’t reach. And that is why we all need to just keep working to do our part. All of us. Exactly where we are.

Maybe it looks like working at a youth center and being a listening ear to kids who no one else is listening to. And maybe it looks like writing a letter to someone in a nursing home who feels alone. And maybe it means smiling at the cashier and asking her if she has a church family or if she wants to come with you to church this Sunday. See…it’s not that what I’m doing is better or more important than what you’re doing, because every single person needs to know that they have value. Not just the teenagers. Not just the homeless. Not just the poor and not just the rich. Every single person. The fact is, God loves everyone. Jesus died for all. All. And the way I see it is: all means all and that’s all all means. And if Jesus died for all, and He loves all, then I need to love all the people too. Makes sense, right?!

So when I say that it takes all of us to reach all of them, I mean it literally. I mean that all of us need to work together to make sure that all of them are being reached.

This month, I felt support in a great way when my friend Tracy started a snack drive for The Porch. It’s a huge stress point to not know if we are going to have enough money to get snacks for the kids or to keep the ministry going. I was so grateful to see so many people come together and buy snacks and drinks for these kids. See…it took all of you to get the snacks for the kids so that we could tell them they are valuable. And let’s be real: they wouldn’t be hanging out for so long if they weren’t eating! So thank you. Thank you to all of you who are supporting us monthly. Thank you to all of you who decided to buy snacks for us. It may seem small, but it’s a really huge deal.

2014-12-03_0001

And if we all decide to do our part, then everyone will be reached.
Our goal at The Porch is to demonstrate the unconditional love of God to our community by building relationships, meeting physical needs, and sharing the love of Jesus that transforms lives.

Thank you for helping us reach our goal. It takes all of us to reach all of them.

4 thoughts on “It takes all of us to reach all of them.

Leave a Reply

