Threads, Kicks and Frosting ~ How to dress once you’re over 30

Listen. I understand that I am well into my mid-thirties here. However, I do not think I should have to start shopping in the old lady section at Macy’s because of it. Now before you freak out, I believe there is a line that needs to be drawn between the outfit of a teenager and an old mom like me. But we don’t have to throw fashion out the window because of it.

So. With that being said…If you are over 30 and struggling to find out what is acceptable and what is not? Here are my 2 cents.

Do try to stay up with the latest fashion, don’t try to wear it in a size too small.

Do try to wear brands like American Eagle (if it’s your style), but don’t wear the clothes that have numbers on the front, or writing like – California girl (unless you really are one).

Do try to keep dressing like what your style is, but don’t try to pull out a new style all together which will make you look like you’re trying too hard.

Do act confident in how you dress, don’t let yourself go just because you are past your teenage years.

Do accessorize big time and wear lots of jewelry, don’t start getting piercings all over your face.

So there are my tips for today. I rock out the pig tails every once in a while, but I have also had to bring my shirts with numbers on them to the thrift store. Because seriously. People. There has to be a line drawn. I can be a good dresser, but I will never be 25 again.

So there’s that.

2014-12-02_0001

Anything else you think women over 30 should stay away from? Apparently there is an unwritten rule about guys and sports jerseys over the age of 30. I think it’s still acceptable for women. (phewwww…) 🙂 So lay em on me…I want to hear what you think!

*photo credit: Riley Chase

3 thoughts on “Threads, Kicks and Frosting ~ How to dress once you’re over 30

Leave a Reply

