I woke up today. So did you.

I woke up today with my heart beating. I opened my eyes and could see. I stood up on the floor with complete and total balance and walked down the stairs. I can hear Bethel worship music as it sounds through my house. I opened the refrigerator this morning and took out creamer for my coffee. I opened the door to find this.

snow

I opened my Bible. My precious Bible that I have had for almost 20 years. I have taken that Bible to 3 different countries and it is filled with underlining, colors and notes. I drank my coffee this morning as I talked to God. He heard me. He always does.

I can hear my boys laughing together in the other room. I can smell the bread baking as I type.

How easy does complaining come to you? How easy is it for you to be negative? Are you griping about the snow that fell last night? Or are you amazed by a Creator who could design something as beautiful as snow. Are you thankful that you have a house to live in that protects you from the cold? Are you using your mouth to speak words of criticism? Or are you grateful that you have the ability to speak, and that you have people in your life to speak to?

It’s always easier to find the negative. But it’s always better to find the positive.

Find the positive today. Don’t take for granted the fact that you are alive. That you are breathing. That you can laugh, talk, pray, eat, think, see. These are amazing gifts from an amazing God. And don’t just be thankful. Be thankful to God. He is the one who has given us everything we have.
I woke up today. So did you. Be thankful for something as miraculous as life.

Happy Thanksgiving!

One thought on “I woke up today. So did you.

Leave a Reply

