Mommy Monday ~ 3 Easy tips to teaching your kids basic manners

I am a boys mommy through and through. I love letting my kids act like kids and I really try to remember to hold on to today. 

2014-11-17_0001

But as much as I think kids should be able to act like kids, it’s still really important that they learn some basic manners that help your life go a little smoother.

1. How to interrupt a parent when they are talking.
How many times have you been in the middle of a conversation with an adult, and your toddler decides they need to talk to you, and talk to you NOW?
Teach them to put their hand on your arm, shoulder or leg and wait for you to address them. My kids still do this even though they are older. Sometimes, if my conversation doesn’t seem to have an end in sight and the person talking to me doesn’t know our little system, I just put my hand on their hand so they know I realize they are there and I will talk to them as soon as I can.

2. How to be safe in a parking lot.
When you are trying to get at least 2 kids out of carseats at a time, things can get really stressful. You can get really nervous thinking that your 2-year-old is going to run wild in his new found freedom from the straps while you are trying to take out your infant!
Teach them to put their hand on the car. So simple, and maybe even obvious but by giving them something to do, it allows you to have a minute to get the baby out and not wonder if your toddler is running around.

3. How to show the difference between a playful come here and a serious come here.
Many times I would playfully tell my toddler to come here. I’m sure you can picture what I am describing if you are right in the middle of this time of life! The whole, I’m-gonna-get-you, or come-here-you-little-monkey is kind of the way your day rolls. But there are times when you need them to come see you and you are very serious. It’s hard for a 2 or 3-year-old to be able to tell the difference between the two!
Teach them that when you put your hand out (palm up) and say come here…this is when you are being serious. My sister already had 3 kids by the time I was having my first, so she was really helpful when our kids were little together! She taught me this trick when my boys were little, and it was so incredibly helpful. I was always chasing the boys around the house and just being silly. But the times when they were in danger of falling of the bed, or if I needed them to come to me because it was time to be done being silly, I needed something that would differentiate. Putting my hand out was a really good way to do this.

I hope that this has been able to help you a little. There are going to be days when you feel like everything is falling apart and you are just going to lose it…especially when your babies are little.
I get it. I have totally been there. And to be honest? You can feel that way when your babies are big too! But finding a few simple tips can really make you feel like your life is in control and everything is going to be ok.

So…you got this! You’re doing great. Don’t forget to not be so hard on yourself. Show your kids some grace, and then show yourself some grace! Happy Monday!

One thought on “Mommy Monday ~ 3 Easy tips to teaching your kids basic manners

Leave a Reply

