Threads, Kicks and Frosting ~ Wearing your best friends

I love fashion. Ever since I was little, I always had to have a hair bow in every color and earrings to match it. Shoes were something I could never own too many of, and I was always on the lookout for a new outfit.

One thing I never had? Friends my own age. Never. I remember praying with my mom when I was 13 and begging God to bring me a girl I could be friends with. Someone who loved God the way I did, who loved her family the way I did, and who loved fashion the way I did.

It wasn’t until many years later that God gave me what I asked for. I went through those crazy years, 11-14, without a group of girls that I could really call friends.

Maybe that’s why I love watching girls have friendships with each other that count for more than just the brand of clothes they wear, and how well their earrings match their shirt. Being around kids and teens a lot, I see so few girls who are innocent and just, well..girlish! It literally makes my heart happy to be part of a group of people who are raising their girls with integrity, purity and a serious love for God.

I had the chance today to photograph a group of girls like this. They were giggly, silly and just exactly the way girls that age are supposed to be. They were wearing their best friends…walking arm in arm, sitting close, whispering silly things to each other and enjoying life the way life should be enjoyed. And I have to tell you. It was so refreshing.

2014-11-11_0001 2014-11-11_0002 2014-11-11_0003 2014-11-11_0005

2014-11-11_0004I had so much fun with you girls, and I hope we can do it more often. You are all treasures.

One thought on “Threads, Kicks and Frosting ~ Wearing your best friends

Leave a Reply

