Vintage boots and love letters

This morning I woke up feeling pretty motivated. I had a good time alone with God, did a load of laundry, made the boys bacon and waffles. Ok..the waffles were frozen, but still. And then picked up some stuff at staples that I had printed for The Porch! I know that incident reports and a procedures manual for volunteers may not sound that fun or exciting to you, BUT to me? It was beyond exciting! I love being prepared and organized for the youth center, and I am so excited for this year!

Our family loves going antiquing together… you just never know what you are going to find! I am usually looking for decorations for the house, or props for my business. But today I totally fell in love with a pair of vintage boots.

People. You know my love for shoes, yes? And you know my love for vintage, yes? So just imagine how I felt about vintage shoes…that were my size!!

photo-24I am so obsessed right now. Like. for real.

And then when I got home, I found a love letter from my dad in my inbox. It started with… I am very proud to have a daughter like you. You bless my life every day…

Another reminder of the fact that intentional parenting never stops. The love that my parents poured into my life are affecting me every day still. From my mom calling me yesterday and asking if I wanted to go to the beach with her…

photo-25

To my dad writing me a letter today. It’s a reminder that if I work hard developing relationships with my boys today, and I will be able to have them as friends later. That it doesn’t stop once they leave the house. It takes making efforts every day to show that they are loved and appreciated. I am so blessed to have parents who continue to work hard at showing love to me and my family every single day.

So today was a pretty good day.

Any day that includes vintage boots and love letters could not be bad.

 

2 thoughts on “Vintage boots and love letters

Leave a Reply

