The suffering in Iraq: How can I sleep at night?

With everything going on in the world right now, how is it possible for us to ever sleep in peace?

I know I am not the only one who has been just sickened by the horrors that are going on in Iraq right now. It breaks my heart and it makes it hard to focus. To not feel guilty for the fact that I have freedom in America. To carry on in my everyday life. And it makes me wonder: What happens as these moms get their children snatched out of their arms knowing that they are going to be beheaded.

Beheaded. Not bullied. Not made fun of. Not injured… Beheaded.

They do not get an ice bucket challenge done in their honor.

They do not get a facebook page created for them where they can see how many fans it has, no clever hashtag to show support.

They don’t have a go fund me account started to collect thousands of dollars, no news articles of the last 10 years of their child’s life.

They don’t even get a proper funeral for their precious babies.

It’s over. Just like that. Their life as they know it is over.

Taken away from them by arrogant, angry, despicable men. Who seem to have no conscious. No feelings. No soul.

And here we are in America. Helplessly standing by.

It’s crazy really, because there truly is nothing I can physically do to save one single person in Iraq. There is no trip I can make, no money I can send, no gifts I can give.

But my heart aches as I watch what takes place in a country I have never been. To people I have never met.

I remember taking my family to the Dominican Republic when the boys were 4 and 6. We had traveled all day long, and were riding in a loud, crowded bus at 11:00 at night. Riley was  not feeling well, and as we drove farther and farther away from any form of “civilization” I remember feeling helpless. Like..what if something was wrong with my son and there is no doctor, and nothing I can do to protect him?

Talk about a minor, little, insignificant problem to be dealing with in comparison.d1230-img_3504

 These moms and dads are feeling the ultimate definition of helpless and hopeless, by anyone’s definition, and there is not any possible way anyone would debate it.

But these people who are being persecuted are supposed to be Christians. Christ followers. And do you know the main thing that separates Christians from non-Christians?

HOPE.

hope

Jesus gives hope. Because we know that this life is short. And after this life, comes eternal life. And eternal life with God in  heaven is perfection. With no suffering, no pain, no hurt. And that. That is what we hold on to.

There are a couple of things I can learn from all of this that can help me sleep at night:

1. Gain a better understanding of justice. God is just. His very character is just. So when we, as sinful humans, try and determine what justice is, we are not ever going to be entirely accurate. God can not ever change, and therefore can never be anything but just.

Deuteronomy 32:4 For all His ways are just; A God of faithfulness and without injustice, Righteous and upright is He. 

Psalm 33:5 He loves righteousness and justice.

Exodus 34:6 He will by no means leave the guilty unpunished.

Psalm 58:11 Surely there is a God who judges on earth.

Isaiah 61:8 For I, the LORD, love justice.

It makes no sense to me. No sense at all. But I can trust that there is a God who is just. Who loves justice. And who will not leave the guilty unpunished.

2. Gain a better understanding of the power of prayer.

Philippians 4:6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.
Prayer makes a difference. And I think one of the biggest tricks of the enemy is to get us to believe otherwise. To believe that our prayers really don’t make a difference one way or the other. If he can trick us there, we won’t pray. And if we won’t pray, we lose out on the most incredible power we possess…direct access to the Almighty God.

And so I trust and wholeheartedly believe that God is just. That these animals will be repaid for the heinous acts they are performing.   I trust and wholeheartedly believe that prayer changes things. And I will continue to pray for supernatural peace to come over these people who are suffering.

And I will hold on to this hope as an anchor for my soul. It holds me steadfast and secure. And it reminds me of the unchanging, always loving, compassionate and faithful God. This God who has overcome the world. And this is how I can sleep at night.

Leave a Reply

